Audioslave was an alternative/hard rock supergroup that consisted of the instrumentalists of Rage Against the Machine: Tom Morello (guitar), Tim Commerford (bass and back-up vocals) and Brad Wilk (drums), together with Chris Cornell of Soundgarden (lead vocals and rhythm guitar) as their lead singer. The band formed shortly after the break-up of Rage Against the Machine.